Connacht U14 C League Champions

Dunmore Community School are celebrating after becoming Connacht U14 C League champions, beating Calasanctius Oranmore 30-19 in the final played at Tuam RFC. Dunmore led throughout, and their early dominance was built on the performance of their forwards, especially Kieran Cosgrove and James Mitchell, who provided the platform for their backs to play. Two tries, one a great opportunist break from scrum half & captain Rian Healy and a sweeping team move finished by winger Dean O’Boyle gave them a 12-0. Calasanctius responded with a well-worked, unconverted try before Rian Healy scored his second try to give Dunmore CS a 17-5 lead before Calasanctius again responded through a converted try to make the half-time score 17- 12. Dunmore defended well as a team throughout the game against very good opposition. Centres Callum Walsh and Mikey Forde were at their best, making numerous tackles. Two penalties in the second half stretched Dunmore’s lead, and despite another Calasanctius try to close the gap to 23-19, Dunmore finished the game strongly, going through numerous phases before Dean O’Boyle finished a great move, Rian Healy converting to make the final score 30-19. The Dunmore captain finished with a 20-point haul courtesy of two tries, two conversions and two penalties. It’s two Connacht titles in a row for Dunmore CS as they retain the Under 14 C League title they won last year. Thank you to Principal Declan Quinn, Head of P.E Mary Grehan, and Sean O’Carroll for their continued support for school rugby; TY students Sean Burns and Ronan Hett for their support and time preparing the squad this year. To the playing squad, well done on a fantastic unbeaten season and producing a special performance in the final. Special mention goes to the amazing support from 1st and 2nd-year pupils, plus the numerous parents who were able to make the short journey to Tuam to cheer on the team. Well done to our two Dunmore RFC coaches, Keith Corless and David Mbaziira, who deserve huge credit for their time and dedication to school rugby in Dunmore this season.