DCS Calendar 2018-2019

The Board of Management, having taken into account consultation with staff, consideration of the needs of students and parents and the organisational needs of the school, has agreed on the following calendar for the year 2018/19.

 

 

“Provisional” School Re-opening Dates: (Updated: 9th July 2018)

  • Monday 27th August 2018 – 1st year students only
  • Tuesday 28th August 2018 – 1st, 3rd & 6th year students only
  • Wednesday 29th August 2018 – 1st, 2nd & 5th year students only
  • Thursday 30th August 2018 – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 6th & LCA
  • Friday 31st August 2018 – All students including TY

 

School Closed:

  • Monday 24th September 2018
  • Monday 19th November 2018 – Dept. Whole Staff In-service for New Junior Cycle
  • Tuesday 29th January 2019 – Further Dept. Whole Staff In-service for New Junior Cycle

 

Mid Term Break:

  • Sat 27th Oct to Sun 4th Nov 2018 inclusive

 

Christmas Holidays:  

  • Sat 22nd Dec 2018 to Sun 6th Jan 2019 inclusive

 

Mid Term Break:  

  • Sat 16th Feb to Sun 24th Feb 2019 inclusive

 

St. Patrick’s Day:   

  • Closed Mon 18th March 2019

 

Easter Holidays:   

  • Sat 13th April to Sun 28th April 2019 inclusive

 

May Bank Holiday: 

  • Mon 6th May 2019

 

Summer Holidays:

  • Closing on Friday 31st May 2019

 

State Exams Commence:    

  • Wed 5th June 2019

 

Parent Teacher Meetings proposed dates:

  • 6th Years/LCA2 – Wed 9th October 2017 
  • 3rd Years – Tues 7th November 2017
  • 5th Years/TY –  Thursday 30th Nov Thurs 18th January 2018
  • 2nd Years – Mon 11th December Mon 5th February 2018
  • 1st Years – Tues 16th Jan Tues 23rd January 2018

School Timetable:

Due to Department of Education requirements, from the 2017-2018 academic year, all classes must be a minimum of 40 minutes. This has resulted in the school day changing to 9:00am – 3:55pm  (except Fridays where we finish at 1:15pm).