Business Studies Awards

We would like to congratulate Conor Naughton and Holly Redington, who attended The Junior Certificate Business Studies Awards Ceremony at NUI Galway, which celebrated their fantastic achievement of an “A” grade in Higher Level Business Studies.  Well done to both of them and their teacher, Ms Martina Duignan.

L-R: Dr Gerard Turley, from the JE Cairnes School of Business and Economics., Conor Naughton, Holly Redington and their teacher Ms. Martina Duignan.

DCS End of Year Awards 2018 – with Special Guests Joe Canning and Jason Flynn

Special thanks to our two special guests Joe Canning and Jason Flynn who made a special appearance yesterday for our End of Year Awards. It was an honour to welcome them both to Dunmore CS.

Well done to all our Award winners on their fantastic achievements during the year. We are proud of all of you.

We hope you all have a relaxing Summer.

Claudia Devlin with Joe Canning and Jason Flynn

Mia Donoghue receives the Padraic Gilmore Art Appreciation Award. Pictured are Joe Canning, Mia Donoghue, Pat Gilmore past Principal of DCS and father of Padraig Gilmore and Jason Flynn

Congrats to our past students David Burke, Rachel Murphy and Niamh Knightly who all achieved over 600 points in the 2017 LC. Rachel Murphy and David Burke were presented with their trophies by Joe Canning and Jason Flynn.

Congrats to Niall Cloonan who was presented the Declan Joyce Excellence in Woodcraft Award 2018 by Paddy and Janette Joyce.

James Quinn, Winner of the Claudia Gavin Student of the Year Award with Joe Canning and Jason Flynn.

Micheál Burke was the winner of the Anne Flynn Science Award 2018.

Derbhla Neenan was the Senior Ladies Sportstar winner and Adam Canny was the Senior Boys Sportstar winner.

Christine Gleeson who hasn’t missed a day in 6 years.

Aoife Sheehy with Joe Canning and Jason Flynn.

The Turner sisters and their cousins with Joe Canning and Jason Flynn

Laura Burke and Rachel Turner were the joint winners of the Pat Heaney Music Award.

Andrea Delaney won an award for full attendance for three years

Eoin Nicklin won an acedemic award and an award for his participation in school events

Catriona Ronayne amd Megan Naughton meet the hurlers !

Second Year Students with Joe Canning and Jason Flynn

Ann Marie Gannon with the hurling stars

P.E. teachers, Sinead Canny and Mary Grehan

Deputy Principal, Margaret Griffiths with the guests of honour on awards day

Principal Declan Quinn, Deputy Margaret Griffiths and Councillor Peter Feeney, Chairman of the Dunmore CS BOM with Joe Canning and Jason Flynn

First Year award winners with Joe Canning and Jason Flynn



Leaving Cert 2018 Graduation and Awards

Congrats to all our students who graduated yesterday evening. We are very proud of all of you.

We hope you enjoyed the evening in DCS and the rest of the night!  Special congrats to our “Claudia Gavin Student of the Year” award winner James Quinn, the “Anne Flynn Science Award” winner Micheál Burke and the “Pat Heaney Music Award” joint winners Laura Burke and Rachel Turner. Also congratulations to all our Award Winners and those who received Certificates yesterday.

Remember: “You are the best author of your own future!”

The “Claudia Gavin Student of the Year” award was won by James Quinn and presented by Conor Gavin.

Student of the Year, James Quinn with Deputy Principal Mrs Griffiths and Principal Mr Declan Quinn.

Micheál Burke was presented with the “Anne Flynn Science Award” by Nora Walsh.

Laura Burke and Rachel Turner were the joint winners of the Pat Heaney Music Award.





Carlos O’Gara pictured with Sportstar of the Year Award Winner Adam Canny.


Michael Burke, Conor Finn, Cathal Heneghan, Tom Burke and Padraig Costelle, all Sports Award Winners.

Conor Carney with his Special Merit for Contribution to School Life Award.

Meadhbh Finnegan with her Special Merit Award for her Contribution to School Life.

Derbhla Neenan with her Ladies Senior Sportstar Award, Special Merit for her All Star Selection, Captain of the Ladies Football Team and a Special Merit Award for her Contribution to Music in the school.




Christine Gleeson was awarded the Full Attendance prize for completing six years in school without missing a day.



Student Enterprise Programme – Junior Winners

Congratulations to our 1st year students Michael Canavan, Lucyna Semczyszyn, Caoimhe Herviaux, Eoin Nicklin and Megan Maloney on winning the Junior Category at the Student Enterprise Final in Galway. They will represent Galway in the National Final in Dublin on the 2nd May. They are indebted to their Art Teacher Ms Scott and Ms Fallon for their help. Their display was very eye catching and they have worked very hard in the last few weeks with their project . Well done on their fantastic achievement !

Student Enterprise Final- Ty & 1st Years

Transition Year Students and some 1st years were privileged to be in the final of the Schools Enterprise Programme in the Clayton Hotel, Galway. It was a very interesting business project for all involved. They had workshops initially in the school on enterprise education with Garry Lowe and then began the task of setting up a business. They had to cover all aspects of their business in their report and display it on the day of the final. Each group were interviewed by a judging panel and there was great excitement when a group from 1st year won the Junior Category for their business Craft Card Co. There was great applause when a group from TY were awarded Best Business Plan for their business Jasacomi Rollers. All the students were complimentary of the programme and took great pride in displaying their business ideas and speaking about them to the judging panel. There was a great buzz throughout the day and the other business displays from TY were very interesting and they included Bake n Cake, Wax in the City and Dunmore Ink. Well done to our 32 students and their teachers Ms Anne Fallon and Ms Marie Scott who were part of this exciting enterprise programme.

Student Enterprise Final

Congratulations to Transition Year Students Sean Ryan, Patrick Keadin, Michael Gildea, Jack Neenan and Conor Mitchell whose business project Jasacomi Rollers won an award for Best Business Plan at the Student Enterprise Final in the Clayton Hotel, Galway. This is a great achievement as there were 54 displays in the senior section. Great credit is due to them and their business teacher Ms Fallon for the trojan work this past while.

1 2 3 4 5 6